Check out which LGBTQIA trailblazers made the cut


The LSEG DIVA Awards exists to celebrate the LGBTQIA women and non-binary people that are bringing positive change to our community, as well as honouring the allies that remain committed to standing by our sides and helping to make the world a more welcoming place for us. Now that you’ve all sent in your nominations for celebrities and campaigners you believe deserve to be awarded for their work, we’ve created a special shortlist of nominees, and we need your help to select the final winners. This year’s award ceremony is headline sponsored by London Stock Exchange Group. It will be hosted by the fabulous Sophie Ward, with a special performance from the incredible Emeli Sandé, on 28 April at No 8 Northumberland Avenue, London.

This annual event has become one of the most anticipated celebrations in the queer community — especially as it is held in celebration of Lesbian Visibility Week (24 – 30 April). So not only do we spend the week talking about the importance of celebrating lesbian identity, we show you exactly what we mean by bringing visibility to some of the most influential LGBTQIA women and non-binary people at a glamorous awards ceremony.

There are so many incredible queer women and non-binary people paving the way in sports, media, business, music, politics, and many other industries, that deserve to be commended for their achievements. Especially since there are so many barriers in our society that make it difficult for our community to succeed. We’re winning against the odds and we should always make time to celebrate that — this is why the awards ceremony is so important to DIVA.

The shortlist announced today includes LGBTQIA icons like Emeli Sandé, Cat Burns, Tabs Benjamin, Dame Kelly Holmes, alongside organisations like UK Black Pride and Stonewall UK.

Some of the major categories we’re really looking forward to are: Actor of the Year, Musician of the Year, Influencer of the Year, the DIVA Lifetime Achievement Award and the Diversity Champion of the Year.

Previous winners include Lucy Spraggan, DJ Adele Roberts, Mae Martin and Suranne Jones.

Click here to see the full shortlist and vote for your faves!

DIVA magazine celebrates 28 years in print in 2022. If you like what we do, then get behind LGBTQIA media and keep us going for another generation. Your support is invaluable.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.