NME and Bose have just announced the news


Today, NME and Bose are thrilled to announce the full tracklist of the forthcoming C23 mixtape, leading with an exclusive King Princess single and the lineup for their C23 Live showcase at South by Southwest® (SXSW).

The KP track was made with Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeran collaborator Aaron Dessner  (The National)

Artists performing at the Bose x NME C23 Live showcase at SXSW on 16 March at Inn Cahoots include: JVKE, 070 Shake, Flo Milli, RenForShort, MICHELLE, Blu DeTiger, Genesis Owusu, Danielle Ponder and Jockstrap.

Set to be released on March 15 on digital and cassette, C23 is inspired by the influential C86 compilation that launched the careers of many era-defining artists, and will serve as a who’s who of today’s most exciting new talent across multiple genres.

Following the album release, the C23 Live showcase at SXSW on 16 March will be an iconic musical moment in 2023, and the ultimate way to experience select artists from the C23 mixtape. 

The mixtape features exclusive, previously unreleased tracks from King Princess, 070 Shake, US top-10 hitmaker JVKE, critically acclaimed Jockstrap, Genesis Owusu, US rapper Flo Milli and London Grammar’s Dot Major, debuting his solo electronic material.

The 15 artists that make up the release have been curated by Bose and NME to represent a vital snapshot of new and cutting-edge sounds in 2023. King Princess’ hypnotising new C23 track, The Bend, is out now and truly exemplifies the boldness of the mixtape.

Thomas Smith, Commissioning Editor (Music), says: “The hunt for new music has kept NME and its readers busy for the past 70 years, and that feeling of discovering an emerging artist still defining their story never gets old. The return of the C-Series is a fantastic opportunity for Bose and NME to showcase rising names from across the globe, each of which are refining their craft and keeping music exciting.”

“I’m thrilled to be kicking off the C23 release with King Princess’ entry The Bend. She’s an artist that remains on the rise, one that’s already made a noticeable mark in her scene and beyond, and is no doubt eager to continue pushing her name and sound forward.”

“This is the first of many great tracks from the mixtape we’re buzzing to share with the engaged, open-minded listeners that make up NME’s readership.”

The showcase is set to be a defining moment of SXSW: a selection of some of the most exciting and unique artists in the world, uniting to launch an era-defining mixtape during the largest new music event of the year. 

Jim Mollica, CMO at Bose, says: “Bose is excited to work with NME to bring the C23 mixtape to life at our SXSW showcase. We set out with the purpose of bringing influential and emerging artists back to the forefront of the music scene – and this lineup promises to do just that.

SXSW has become an essential destination for so many aspects of culture, but at its core it remains a music festival and one of the most important stages in the world for new music. The C23 showcase is in celebration of that, and we’re looking forward to bringing together the devoted music lovers of SXSW to experience it.”

C23 Mixtape Tracklist 

1. King Princess – The Bend 

2. Genesis Owusu – Hole Heart

3. Blu DeTiger – Lipstick 

4. Flo Milli – Einstein 

5. Dot Major – Hideaway

6. MICHELLE – The Peach

7. Jockstrap – Concrete Over Water (C23 Remix) 

8. 070 Shake – Reset 

9. RenForShort – Bebe 

10. JVKE – Golden Hour (Orchestral)

11.Chloe Moriondo – Killbot

12. Danielle Ponder – Spiralling 

13. Weval – Unstoppable

14. FelixThe1st – I Swear

15. Half.Alive – Beige 

DIVA magazine celebrates 29 years in print in 2023. If you like what we do, then get behind LGBTQIA media and keep us going for another generation. Your support is invaluable. 


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.