The panel includes Tim Highsted and BAFTA-nominated non-binary screenwriter Shiva Raichandani


The Iris Prize 2023 has revealed their Best British Jury for this year’s judging and will announce the Best British film shortlist at the special Iris Prize Summer Party on 29 July. The jury is composed of Channel 4’s Tim Highsted, Adam Quigley, Muffin Hix, director and co-founder of Blak Wave Productions Somina ‘Mena’ Fombo, and Shiva Raichandani. 

The Iris Prize is the largest LGBTQIA short film prize in the world and is supported by The Michael Bishop Foundation with £30,000 available to the winner to make a new LGBTQIA short film in the UK. 

Berwyn Rowlands, Iris Prize Festival Director, said: “We are pleased to once again welcome Tim Highsted back to chair the jury which rewards the very best of our homegrown talent. Tim is joined this year by four talented and exceptional individuals who will help find the winner of this prestigious award.” 

Somina ‘Mena’ Fombo joins the jury this year as the first winner of the Iris Prize documentary film fund. She is the co-founder of Blak Wave Productions and her last film The Glorious Ones premiered at the BFI Flare London film festival last year. 

Alongside Somina on the jury panel is BAFTA-nominated non-binary screenwriter, director, and producer Shiva Raichandani. Shiva was just awarded the prestigious BFI and BAFTA LGBTQIA+ Mentoring Scheme. 

Full details about Iris Prize can be found here: 

DIVA magazine celebrates 29 years in print in 2023. If you like what we do, then get behind LGBTQIA media and keep us going for another generation. Your support is invaluable. ✨

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.